good :: bad :: whatever

I’m gonna get you sucka! | 20/07/2009

G: Punch-Out!! for the Wii for FREE!

B: Spitballs on my car (really??!!)

W: Insomnia

A friend of mine recently got a free copy of Punch-Out!! for the Wii. Since he doesn’t have a Wii to play on, I happily became the beneficiary of said free game (hooray!). Although I am thrilled to have the game (I’ve been dying to play it for months), there’s a part of me that wonders if it will enjoy it as much as the original. Will Li’l Mac still make that sound before his star punch? Will the original characters still be around?  I hope they didn’t get rid of Li’l Mac running…that was my favorite!

I remember playing the original version of the game (when called Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!) on the NES my parents had, and I have very happy memories of playing the game with my younger bro and cousin, who were both Nintendo fanatics. I remember tirelessly observing the details of each fighter to figure out how to beat him, or at least stay alive: punching King Hippo in the face before you attacked his belly; waiting for Don Flamenco to swing up to the stars before you punched; looking for Piston Honda’s wiggling eyebrows as a warning his punch was coming. I remember visiting my cousin’s house one New Year’s Day to see him fight Mike Tyson, only to get the snot punched out of him. He spent the rest of the day figuring out how to flatten him (with most of his cousins cheering him on). Those were good times. Would this new version be able to compete with that kind of nostalgia?

As I write this, I’ve only managed to work my way up to the match against King Hippo in the Minor Circuit (no judgment!), so I have no clue what is in store for me, other than sore shoulder muscles. There have been little touches that I have appreciated, like the Wii-mote vibrating when King Hippo bounces into the ring, and I swear I’ve heard some of the original music in the background when I’m fighting. It’s also pretty satisfying to see the amount of bruising you can inflict on an opponent (either one the face or the belly) as the match goes on. I think The Disco Kid is pretty annoying as a character, but understand why he’s in the game, and it sure doesn’t look like Mario is the ref in this game, which is a bit of a bummer. I’m short; there has to be someone smaller than me in that ring.

My cousin and younger brother are all grown now, so playing this game without them is a little odd for me, but one of the most enjoyable aspects of this game (other than punching something) is playing the game with my friends who have just as vivid memories of the game as I do. For those few moments when we’re in the ring as Li’l Mac, we’re all back in our childhood homes, fighting Glass Joe, Great Tiger, Soda Popinski, or Mike Tyson for the first time and loving every minute of it.

GBW out

run, mac, run!

run, mac, run!

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

The author does not say much about himself

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

